# 2008 National City / KHSAA Boys' Sweet Sixteen® Awards

# **KABC LARRY CONLEY ULTIMATE TEAMMATE AWARD**

Selected by the media, this award is given to a participant in the tournament whose individual play exemplifies the style of play where scoring isn't the most important aspect of the game, and is complemented by passing, rebounding and block shots.

Award/Sponsor	Winner
Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches	Trevor Setty, Mason County High School

### FORCHT GROUP OF KENTUCKY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD

Forcht Group of Kentucky Sportsmanship Award – given to the participant in the tournament who best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and fair play throughout the event.

ĺ	Award/Sponsor	Winner
	Forcht Group of Kentucky (presented by Dorsey Hall)	#11, Holmes, Braeon Avery

# **SWEET SIXTEEN ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS**

\$1000 one-time scholarship given to a tournament participant based solely on academic achievement to be used at a Kentucky college or University

Award/Sponsor	Winner	School
Ted Cook Tire (presented by Ted Cook)	Nick Gagel	Jeffersontown
Bob Roberts Insurance (presented by Joe and John	Jackson Tolle	Mason County
Roberts)		-
Harold Thomas Browning Scholarship, sponsored	LeeVaughn Morris	Central
by Stephens Oil (presented by Ken Tippett on		
behalf of Tim Stephens)		
Gene Lowe Memorial Scholarship	Logan Edelen	Bardstown

**TED SANFORD AWARD**, sponsored by the Courier Journal, given to a tournament participant based on Citizenship, Basketball Ability, Academic Achievement, Sportsmanship. Also, this award includes a \$1000 one-time scholarship from Dawahares to be used at a Kentucky college or University

Award/Sponsor	Presenter	Winner	School
Ted Sanford Award	Commissioner Brigid DeVries	Landon Slone	Paintsville
(Courier Journal)	scholarship award presented by		
	Dee Dawahare		

# 2008 BOYS' SWEET SIXTEEN. ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM

#	NAME	SCHOOL
33	Brock Moorman	Owensboro
12	Landon Slone	Paintsville
13	Josh Whitaker	Hazard
50	Isaac McClure	Paducah Tilghman
11	Vee Sanford	Lexington Catholic
21	Taylor Stewart	Lexington Catholic
15	Tim Sanford	Shelby County
30	Coty Minnis	Shelby County
24	Elijah Pittman	Holmes
33	Ricardo Johnson	Holmes
25	Arrez Henderson	Holmes
21	Darius Miller	Mason County
33	Russ Middleton	Mason County
22	Ethan King	Mason County

**Most Valuable Player,** sponsored by the Lexington Herald Leader – selected by the media as the most valuable in this week's event

#21, Darius Miller, Mason County