MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING

The 91st Annual Meeting of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association was held on Thursday, October 19, 2007 at the Lexington Center. KHSAA Board of Control President Donna Wear called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m. Mr. Larry Boucher, Assistant Commissioner, opened the meeting by introducing KHSAA Staff members, Board members, and welcomed the voting delegates and other school personnel. Mr. Wear designated Legal Counsel Ted Martin as the Parliamentarian, to be assisted by Mr. Ken Tippett. Commissioner Brigid DeVries presented the 2006-2007 Annual Report. Assistant Commissioner Darren Bilberry verified attendance.

Sixty KHSAA member schools were recognized for their sportsmanship efforts with certificates for not having any coaches or athletes disqualified during the entire 2006-2007 school year in any sport. These schools were: Allen Central, Assumption, Augusta, Bardstown, Bellevue, Breathitt County, Brown, Buckhorn, Burgin, Butler County, Calloway County, Calvary Christian, Caverna, Christian Fellowship, Community Christian (Paducah), Cornerstone Christian, Dayton, Deming, Eminence, Evarts, Fairview, Frederick Fraize, Glasgow, Grant County, Harlan, Heritage, Jackson County, June Buchanan, Kentucky School f/t Blind, Kentucky School f/t Deaf, Lewis County, Livingston Central, Louisville Collegiate, Ludlow, McCreary Central, Meade County, Mercy, Moore, Notre Dame, Oneida Baptist Institute, Owensboro, Owsley County, Piarist, Portland Christian, Powell County, Presentation, Red Bird, Sacred Heart, Sayre, Simon Kenton, St. Francis, St. Mary, Union County, Villa Madonna, Warren East, Washington County, Wayne County, West Jessamine, Western, Whitley County, Wolfe County.

The total number of registered delegates was 238, with 41 schools unrepresented. Mr. Martin announced that in order for a proposal to pass, 159 affirmative votes were needed.

Mr. Martin then reviewed procedural issues concerning the Order of the Day, Rules of Order and Voting Procedures.

A motion was made by Tom Woofter, Pendleton County and seconded by Kathy Johnston, Bourbon County, to adopt the Orders of the Day. The motion passed 237-0.

A motion was made by Kathy Johnston, Bourbon County and seconded by Jeff Edwards, Jeffersontown, to adopt the Rules of Order. The motion passed 208-0.

A motion was made by Phil Rison, Montgomery County and seconded by Jackie McCloud, George Rogers Clark, to adopt the Voting Procedure. The motion passed 224-0.

A motion was made by Tim Amshoff, Fern Creek and seconded by Charles Adams, Fleming County, to adopt 2007-Proposal 1 as written. The motion passed 216-11-0-11.

A motion was made by Bill Farley, Raceland and seconded by Daniel Tackett, Betsy Layne, to adopt 2007-Proposal 2 as written. The motion passed 203-23-1-11.

A motion was made by Arthur Ballard, Estill County and seconded by Kathy Johnston, Bourbon County to adopt 2007-Proposal 3 as written. The motion passed 215-9-0-14.

A motion was made by Dennis Lampley, Trinity (Louisville) and seconded by Bill Hill, Sayre to adopt 2007-Proposal 4 as written. The motion failed 66-156-2-14.

A motion was made by Gale Travis, Madisonville-North Hopkins and seconded by Dave Rupsch, Webster County to adopt 2007-Proposal 5 as written. The motion passed 203-14-10-11.

A motion was made by Jim McKee Scott County and seconded by Tracy Spickard, Franklin County to adopt 2007-Proposal 6 as written. The motion passed 165-65-0-8.

A motion was made by Jeff Doom, Lyon County and seconded by Alan Campbell, to adopt 2007-Proposal 7 as written. The motion passed 163-60-4-11.

A motion was made by Jim McKee, Scott County and seconded by Charles Adams, Fleming County, to adopt 2007-Proposal 8 as written. The motion passed 159-69-1-9.

A motion was made by Kathy Johnston, Bourbon County and seconded by Tom Woofter, Pendleton County to adopt 2007-Proposal 9 as written. The motion passed 216-10-0-12.

A motion was made by Nick Stephens, Caverna and seconded by Doug Sallee, Madison Southern, to adopt 2007-Proposal 10 as written. The motion passed 208-18-0-12.

A motion was made by Phil Rison, Montgomery County and seconded by Scott Greenwald, Seneca, to adopt 2007-Proposal 11 as written. The motion passed 221-4-0-13.

The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m. with no further business.