Kentucky High School Athletic Association



2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

Sports News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 6, 2009

FORCHT GROUP OF KENTUCKY/KHSAA REGIONAL SPORTSMANSHIP WINNERS

The 2009 Forcht Group of Kentucky/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Banquet is set for Sunday, April 26, beginning at 5 p.m. at the Embassy Suites in Lexington. This marks the 13th year of the program recognizing outstanding sportsmanship.

KHSAA member schools each select one boy and one girl as the local school sportsmanship winner. School winners are then eligible to be selected as the regional winner. From the 32 regional winners, one boy and one girl will be selected as the state winner and receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship courtesy of Forcht Group of Kentucky. Selection criteria includes: Grade-Point-Average; letters of recommendations; leadership roles/honors; response to case study essay; verification of no game disqualifications.

Each regional winner receives a plaque, a mantle clock from the KHSAA Officials Division and a chair and \$200 book scholarship courtesy of Forcht Group of Kentucky.

The following individuals are regional winners to be recognized and are eligible for the overall statewide award.

Region 1 - Blake Averill (St. Mary), Hannah Ellis (Marshall County)

Region 2 - Will Barnes (Caldwell County), Auburn Sutton (Lyon County)

Region 3 - Chad Grubb (Butler County), Chasity Henning (Breckinridge County)

Region 4 - Joseph Eaton (Monroe County), Lisa Ross (Warren Central)

Region 5 - Chris Thomas (Taylor County), Kelsey Robinson (Nelson County)

Region 6 - Doug Crawford (DeSales), Megan Geary (Brown)

Region 7 - Nicholas Jones (St. Xavier), Avery Jones (DuPont Manual)

Region 8 - Kory Brocious (Carroll County), Kristen Guevara (Walton-Verona)

Region 9 - Steve Rickels (Holy Cross-Covington), Alexa Abner (Newport Central Catholic)

Region 10 - Carson Craig (Pendleton County), Bonnie Jo Dailey (Harrison County)

Region 11 - Daniel Griggs (Tates Creek), Rebekah Hamblin (Sayre)

Region 12 - Trey Edwards (Lincoln County), Stephanie Salyers (Southwestern)

Region 13 - Brian Muffly (Corbin), Candace Kirby (South Laurel)

Region 14 - Chris Hoover (Estill County), Kayla Spencer (Wolfe County)

Region 15 - Dillon Stiltner (Phelps), Jasmine Hall (Phelps)

Region 16 - Eric Craft (Greenup County), Emily Collier (Bath County)

TICKETS REMAIN FOR DAWAHARES/KHSAA HALL OF FAME BANQUET

Tickets are available for the 2009 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame banquet, scheduled for Saturday, April 25 in the Bluegrass Ballroom at the Lexington Center. Tickets may be purchased for \$50 each or \$475 for a table of 10. For more information about the banquet or to order tickets, please contact Butch Cope, Assistant Commissioner at the KHSAA at bcope@khsaa.org or 859-299-5472.

UPCOMING EVENTS/MEETINGS

April 19	KHSAA Officials Award Banquet, Lexington
April 25	Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Banquet, Lexington
April 26	Sportsmanship Winners Banquet, Lexington
May 21-23	Boys' and Girls' State Tennis Tournament, Boone Tennis Center, Lexington
May 21-23	Boys' and Girls' State Track Meet at the University of Louisville, Louisville

-- KHSAA --

About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501 3(c) organization made up of 280 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions state championships in 19 sports, licenses and trains over 3,900 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its member school student athletes as well as overseeing coaching education and medical symposium programs.