Kentucky High School Athletic Association



2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

Sports News

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 12, 2010

FORCHT GROUP OF KENTUCKY/KENTUCKY NATIONAL INSURANCE/KHSAA REGIONAL SPORTSMANSHIP WINNERS

The 2010 Forcht Group of Kentucky/Kentucky National Insurance/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Banquet is set for Sunday, April 25, beginning at 5 p.m. at the KHSAA Office in Lexington. This marks the 14th year of the program recognizing outstanding sportsmanship.

KHSAA member schools each select one boy and one girl as the local school sportsmanship winner. School winners are then eligible to be selected as the regional winner. From the 32 regional winners, one boy and one girl will be selected as the state winner and receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship courtesy of Forcht Group of Kentucky and Kentucky National Insurance. Selection criteria includes: grade-point-average; letters of recommendations; leadership roles/honors; response to case study essay; verification of no game disqualifications. Each regional winner receives a plaque, a mantle clock from the KHSAA Officials Division and a \$200 book scholarship courtesy of the Forcht Group of Kentucky and Kentucky National Insurance. The following individuals are regional winners to be recognized and are eligible for the overall statewide award.

Region 1 – Brooks Heath (Mayfield), Lacy Roberson (Fulton County)

Region 2 – Nate Dyer (Caldwell County), Brittany Doom (Lyon County)

Region 3 – Clint Board (Breckinridge County), Renee Hunter (Owensboro)

Region 4 – Neil Wilson (Monroe County), Shelby Lawson (Bowling Green)

Region 5 – Ethan Paulley (Nelson County), Kamika Joyner (Fort Knox)

Region 6 – Kevin Carrillo (Butler), Moriah Corey (Butler)

Region 7 – Conner English (Christian Academy-Louisville), Allison Karst (Christian Academy-Louisville)

Region 8 – Weston Ott (Simon Kenton), Elena Bertuccio (North Oldham)

Region 9 – Shane Coltharp (Beechwood), Paige Gooch (Beechwood)

Region 10 – Tyler Murphy (Montgomgery County), Paige Compton (Montgomery County)

Region 11 – Bennett Coffey (Woodford County), Chelsea Harnack (Model)

Region 12 – Joseph Vanhook (Lincoln County), Amy Jones (McCreary Central)

Region 13 – Scott Muffly (Corbin), Lyndsay Collette (South Laurel)

Region 14 – Blake Crowe (Estill County), April Hall (Estill County)

Region 15 – Heath Ward (Johnson Central), Hannah Thompson (Pike County Central)

Region 16 – Dalcus Sparks (Menifee County), Lindsey Hale (Menifee County)

TICKETS REMAIN FOR DAWAHARES/KHSAA HALL OF FAME BANQUET

Tickets are available for the 2010 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame banquet, scheduled for Saturday, May 15 in the Bluegrass Ballroom at the Lexington Center. Tickets may be purchased for \$50 each or \$500 for a table of 10. For more information about the banquet or to order tickets, please contact Butch Cope, Assistant Commissioner at the KHSAA at bcope@khsaa.org or 859-299-5472.

The 2010 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame class includes: Simidele Adeagbo Temitayo Adeagbo Bill Brown Tom Creamer Brigid DeVries Dr. Mary Lloyd Ireland Arthur "Ozz" Jackson Craynor Slone Ivan McGlone Samuel Moore Gene Pendleton Mel Purcell Bob Schneider Corky Withrow

UPCOMING EVENTS/MEETINGS

April 18

April 25

April 25

Forcht Group of Kentucky/Kentucky National Insurance/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition
Banquet, Lexington

May 15

Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Banquet, Lexington

May 27-29

Boys' and Girls' State Tennis Tournament, Boone Tennis Center, Lexington

June 3, 5 Boys' and Girls' State Track Meet at the University of Louisville, Louisville

-- KHSAA --

About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501 3(c) organization made up of 280 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions state championships in 19 sports, licenses and trains over 3,900 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its member school student athletes as well as overseeing coaching education and medical symposium programs.