

Kentucky High School Athletic Association

2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 12, 2012

PNC/KHSAA BOYS' SWEET 16® THIS WEEK

Lexington's Rupp Arena will be transformed to the center of high school basketball in the state this week as the 95th PNC/KHSAA Boys' Sweet 16® State Basketball Tournament gets underway on Wednesday.

Four games will be played on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, with game times scheduled for noon and 1:30 for the afternoon sessions and 6:30 p.m. and 8 p.m. for the evening sessions. Saturday morning's semifinals will be played at 10 a.m. and 11:30 a.m., with the championship game slated for 8 p.m. the same night.

Live stats and play-by-play from each contest will be available at http://www.khsaa.org/basketball/boys/sweet16/2012/. Follow all the action live on www.khsaa.tv as well as through Twitter using the hashtags #khs16 and #khsbbk.

Christian County is the defending champion while two teams — Southwestern and North Laurel - will each be making their Sweet Sixteen® debuts.

PNC FOUNDATION/KHSAA SWEET 16® SCHOLARSHIP AWARD WINNERS

Following are the 2012 winners of the PNC Foundation Sweet 16 scholarships. As part of its title sponsorship of the Boys' Sweet 16®, PNC will present each with a one-time \$1,000 scholarship. Winners will be recognized during the first round of the tournament in which the region they represent plays.

- Region 1 –Shain Ross (Mayfield), Tory Fehrenbacher (Marshall County)
- Region 2 Warron Sutton (Lyon County), Lauren Stull (Webster County)
- Region 3 Evan Pollock (Breckinridge County), Morgan Miller (Owensboro)
- Region 4 Zach Imel (Bowling Green), Shelby Ray (Glasgow)
- Region 5 Joshua Koontz (Bethlehem), Dierra Bell (John Hardin)
- Region 6 –Logan Pruitt (Bullitt East), Maegan Arnold (Pleasure Ridge Park)
- Region 7 Shayne Snyder (Atherton), Fianna Ford (Ballard)
- Region 8 Kameron Shams (North Oldham), Victoria Silcox (Oldham County)
- Region 9 Eric Schieman (Covington Catholic), Madison Foley (St. Henry)
- Region 10 Nathan Ryan (Pendleton County), Morgan Bach (St. Patrick)
- Region 11 Hunter Conner (Model), Ashley Hinkle (Madison Central)
- Region 12 Travis McEachen (Burgin), Julia Higginbotham (Mercer County)
- Region 13 Hunter Williams (Williamsburg), Kaitlyn Kreitzer (Red Bird)
- Region 14 Ryan Goodwin (Powell County), Lauren Little (Leslie County)
- Region 15 Colby Hatfield (Phelps), Kashenna Wolford (Phelps)
- Region 16 Clay Woford (Ashland Blazer), Casey Hutchinson (Fairview)

HOUCHENS INDUSTRIES/KHSAA GIRLS' SWEET 16® RECAP

DuPont Manual took home its first girls' basketball state championship as it withstood a furious Marion County rally and held on for the 58-54 victory at E.A. Diddle Arena in Bowling Green. The Lady Crimsons finished the season at 37-2.

Magoffin County, the 15th Region representative, gained respect and support from opposing teams and fans alike. The Lady Hornets, whose hometown of Salyersville suffered extensive damage from tornadoes that hit the state on March 2, were not able to play their regional championship game until the Monday of the State Tournament. Magoffin County defeated Ashland Blazer in the first round before losing to Lincoln County in the quarterfinals.

- Following Thursday's first round contest against Ashland Blazer, coach Bill Bradley and the Kittens signed a card, took up a collection among team members, and donated it to the Lady Hornets.
- For the team's quarterfinal matchup with Lincoln County, fans from Marion and Lincoln counties joined forces to raise \$2,000 and donated it to Magoffin County principal Tony Skaggs for tornado relief efforts.
- A group of DuPont Manual supporters anonymously purchased tournament T-shirts and donated them to each member of the Magoffin County team.
- Nearly 200 Logan County High School students turned out to form a cheering section for the Lady Hornets, just hours after the team practiced at the school and met many of its new fans for the first time.

Four women's athletics pioneers were honored on the 40th anniversary celebration of Title IX. Sharon Tippett, Brigid DeVries, Joyce Seymour, Beverly "Sis" Roby and Lea Wise Prewitt were recognized for their contributions to athletics and upholding the spirit of Title IX.

The tournament began with a salute to a longtime scorekeeper Charles Ruter, who passed away in February. Ruter, the official scorekeeper of the Boys' Sweet 16® from 1962 to 2005 and the Girls' Sweet 16® from 1992 to 2005, was honored with a moment of silence.

-- KHSAA --

For more information contact Elden May at 859-299-5472

