

Kentucky High School Athletic Association 2280 Executive Drive ° Lexington, KY 40505 ° www.khsaa.org ° (859)299-5472 (859)293-5999 (fax)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: APRIL 24, 2012

DAWAHARES/KHSAA HALL OF FAME SILVER ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION THIS SATURDAY

The 2012 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame celebrates its 25th anniversary with the induction of the 2012 class. The induction banquet is scheduled for Saturday, April 28, at the Bluegrass Ballroom in the Lexington Convention Center. Festivities begin with a social hour and silent auction beginning at 5:30 p.m. Dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. followed by the induction ceremonies.

This marks the 25th year the Dawahare family has sponsored the KHSAA Hall of Fame and induction banquet. To date 403 former participants, coaches, officials, administrators, media and contributors have been honored.

The class of 2012 includes: Libby Burr, the late Tim Cahill, Randy Embry, Maxine Graham, Joe Hood, Kim LaBelle, Jim McDaniels, Marvin Moore, Jim Perrin, Alvin Ratliff, James Tucker and Randy Wyatt.

In addition to the class of 2012, all living previous Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame inductees have been invited back to share in the celebration and will be recognized.

Tickets may be purchased by calling Butch Cope or Marsha Day at the KHSAA at (859)299-5472. Single tickets are \$50 or a table of 10 may be purchased for \$500.

To view additional information on this year's induction class, view the following web link: http://www.khsaa.org/hallfame/2012release.pdf

FORCHT BANK/KENTUCKY NATIONAL INSURANCE/KHSAA SPORTSMANSHIP WINNERS ANNOUNCED

A total of 32 student-athletes have been announced as regional winners for the 2012 Forcht Bank/Kentucky National Insurance KHSAA Sportsmanship Awards.

The winners, one boy and one girl from each of the state's 16 regions, will be honored at a banquet, scheduled for Sunday, April 29, at the KHSAA Office in Lexington. Each winner receives a \$200 book scholarship from the folks at Forcht Bank and Kentucky National Insurance, and a recognition award, courtesy of the Officials Division. One boy and one girl, selected as the statewide winner, will receive a one-time \$3,000 scholarship, courtesy of Forcht Bank and Kentucky National Insurance.

Selection criteria for the awards include grade point average, letters of recommendation, leadership roles/honors, response to a case study essay and verification of no game disgualifications.

The following individuals were recognized as regional winners:

Region 1 – Shain Ross (Mayfield), Emily Waggoner (Graves County)

Region 2 – Ben Puckett (Dawson Springs), Rachel Gaddis (Hopkins County Central)

Region 3 – Cole Tynes (Butler County), Audrey Taylor (Ohio County)

Region 4 – Tanner Elrod (Monroe County), Caylan Bybee (Monroe County)

Region 5 – Thomas Mudd (Bethlehem), Rachel Riggs (Taylor County)

Region 6 – Brett Hatfield (Bullitt East), Kelsey Patton (Butler)

Region 7 – Bradley Ledford (Christian Academy-Louisville), Allison Foster (Christian Academy-Louisville)

Region 8 – Christian Olsson (Shelby County), Katelyn Temple (Trimble County)

Region 9 – Zane McQueary (Boone County), Meredith Brownell (Ryle)

Region 10 – Jacob Groneck (Campbell County), Haley Hart (Pendleton County)

Region 11 – Hunter Conner (Model), Melissa Boyle (Bryan Station)

Region 12 – Matthew Hamilton (Mercer County), Bethany Readnower (Mercer County)

Region 13 – Tyler Kirby (South Laurel), Karlie Blackburn (Corbin)

Region 14 – Zack Davis (Knott County Central), Cassidy Flynn (Estill County)

Region 15 – Randy Maynard (Pikeville), Kaci Wilcox (Pike County Central)

Region 16 – Clay Woford (Ashland Blazer), Erica Toy (Bath County)

UPCOMING EVENTS

April 28 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Induction Banquet, Lexington Center, Lexington
April 29 Forcht Bank/Kentucky National Insurance Sportsmanship Awards Banquet,
KHSAA Office, Lexington

May 6 KHSAA Officials Recognition Banquet, KHSAA Office, Lexington

