Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

Current Football Alignment -2015-2016 and 2016-2017

December 11, 2014


The Kentucky High School Athletic Association shall sponsor postseason competition in football provided that there is sufficient interest of the membership to participate in said competition. Member schools desiring to participate in KHSAA sponsored postseason competition shall notify the Association office prior to September 1. The Commissioner shall divide the state into geographic sections within six (6) enrollment based classes with the approval of the Board of Control. In the interim, newly added or deleted programs will be handled on a case by case basis by the Commissioner’s office.
For postseason competition, in Class 1A, 5th place team from District 8 as the 4th place in District 6 for playoff brackets, 5th place team from District 5 will not advance to playoffs.
For postseason competition, in Class 6A, 5th place from District 1 as the 4th place in District 2 for playoff brackets; 5th place from 3 would become the 4th place in 5 for playoffs in odd numbered years; 5th place from 3 would become the 4th place in 6 for playoffs in even numbered years; 5th place from 4 would become the 4th place in 6 for playoffs in odd numbered years; 5th place from 4 would become the 4th place in 5 for playoffs in even numbered years.
For the 2015 through 2016 playing seasons, the alignment for football is as follows:

District 1 – Crittenden County, Fulton City, Russellville
District 2 – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Caverna, Fort Knox
District 3 – Eminence, Frankfort, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day
District 4 – Beechwood, Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow
District 5 – Berea, Bishop Brossart, Bracken County, Nicholas County, Paris
District 6 – Fairview, Paintsville, Raceland
District 7 – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Pineville, Williamsburg
District 8 – Hazard, Jenkins, Pikeville, South Floyd

District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Mayfield, Murray, Webster County
District 2 – Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central
District 3 – Glasgow, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County
District 4 – Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Shawnee, Washington County
District 5 – Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Trimble County, Walton-Verona
District 6 – Holy Cross (Covington), Lloyd Memorial, Newport, Newport Central Catholic
District 7 – Danville, Lexington Christian, Middlesboro, Somerset
District 8 – Allen Central, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Leslie County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley

District 1 – Caldwell County, Fort Campbell, Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Union County
District 2 – Adair County, Edmonson County, Elizabethtown, Hart County, LaRue County
District 3 – Bardstown, Central, Henry County, Moore, Thomas Nelson, Waggener
District 4 – Boyle County, Garrard County, Lexington Catholic, Western Hills
District 5 – Bath County, Fleming County, Lewis County, Pendleton County, Russell, West Carter
District 6 – Belfry, Lawrence County, Pike County Central
District 7 – Breathitt County, Estill County, Knott County Central, Magoffin County, Morgan County, Powell County
District 8 – Bell County, Casey County, Corbin, Jackson County

District 1 – Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Madisonville-North Hopkins
District 2 – Allen County-Scottsville, Franklin-Simpson, South Warren, Warren Central, Warren East
District 3 – Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Valley, Western
District 4 – Collins, Franklin County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Spencer County
District 5 – East Jessamine, Marion County, Mercer County, Taylor County, West Jessamine
District 6 – Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County, Wayne County
District 7 – Bourbon County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County, Scott
District 8 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, East Carter, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

District 1 – Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Marshall County, Owensboro
District 2 – Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood
District 3 – Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, Nelson County, North Bullitt, Oldham County, South Oldham
District 4 – Atherton, Doss, Fairdale, Fern Creek, Iroquois, Southern
District 5 – Covington Catholic, Dixie Heights, Grant County, Highlands
District 6 – Anderson County, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, Woodford County
District 7 – Lincoln County, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern
District 8 – Harlan County, Letcher County Central, North Laurel, Perry County Central, Whitley County

District 1 – Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County
District 2 – Central Hardin, Meade County, North Hardin
District 3 – Butler, DuPont Manual, Male, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier
District 4 – Ballard, Eastern, Jeffersontown, Seneca, Trinity (Louisville)
District 5 – Conner, Cooper, Ryle
District 6 – Boone County, Campbell County, Simon Kenton
District 7 – Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Scott County
District 8 – George Rogers Clark, Lafayette, Madison Central, Tates Creek

Not Placed in Alignment – Clinton County, Fulton County, McCreary Central, Phelps, Sheldon Clark


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times