Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

Mr. and Miss Basketball finalists

February 19, 2016 FieldsColumn


The Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation and the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches have released the lists of finalists for Mr. and Miss Basketball — 18 boys and 17 girls, who earned Player of the Year honors in their respective regions.

Voting by coaches and media will be conducted until Feb. 26. Mr. and Miss Basketball be announced March 15 in Lexington, the night before the Boys’ Sweet Sixteen begins.

The favorites for Mr. Basketball are Quentin Goodin of Taylor County and Carson Williams of Owen County.

Goodin would be the first 5th Region player to win the award since Steffphon Pettigrew of Elizabethtown in 2007. Williams would be the first 8th Region player to win it since Rick Jones and Scott Hundley of Scott County were back-to-back winners in 1999 and 2000, respectively.

The favorites for Miss Basketball are Erin Boley of Elizabethtown and Whitney Creech of Jenkins.

Boley would be the second 5th Region player to win Miss Basketball in three years, following Ivy Brown of LaRue County in 2014. Creech would be the first 14th Region player to win it since Jody Sizemore of Hazard in 1999.


1st Region: James Boone (Murray)

2nd Region: Tyrik Edwards (Christian County)

3rd Region: Stewart Curie (Daviess County)

4th Region: Wade Coomer (Barren County)

5th Region: Mason Faulkner (Caverna) and Quentin Goodin (Taylor County)

6th Region: Tyler Sharpe (Bullitt East)

7th Region: Alex Cook (Male)

8th Region: Carson Williams (Owen County)

9th Region: Ben Weyer (NewCath)

10th Region: Matt Wilson (Campbell County)

11th Region: Isaiah Tisdale (Henry Clay) and Darius Williams (Dunbar)

12th Region: Trey Blevins (Wayne County)

13th Region: Caleb Taylor (South Laurel)

14th Region: Connor Hoskins (Buckhorn)

15th Region: Hunter Swindall (Shelby Valley)

16th Region: Jordan Perry (Morgan County)



1st Region: Maddye Rice (McCracken County)

2nd Region: Adarian Gray (Madisonville)

3rd Region: Mikayla Berry (Owensboro Catholic)

4th Region: Bree Glover (Glasgow)

5th Region: Erin Boley (Elizabethtown)

6th Region: Katie Downey (North Bullitt)

7th Region: Krys McCune (Manual)

8th Region: Kaci Currens (Anderson County)

9th Region: Ansley Davenport (NewCath) and Mallory Schwartz (Ryle)

10th Region: Bailey Cummins (Bracken County)

11th Region: Malaka Frank (Franklin County)

12th Region: Emma Young (East Jessamine)

13th Region: Kayla Bruner (North Laurel)

14th Region: Whitney Creech (Jenkins)

15th Region: Jassmine Howard (Magoffin County)

16th Region: Ashton Woodard (Menifee County)



icon-angle icon-bars icon-times