Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

Current Alignment of Teams – Football – 2019 through 2022 Playing Seasons

May 9, 2018 Football Working


The Kentucky High School Athletic Association shall sponsor postseason competition in football provided that there is sufficient interest of the membership to participate in said competition.
Member schools desiring to participate in KHSAA sponsored postseason competition shall notify the Association office prior to September 1.
The Commissioner shall divide the state into geographic sections within six (6) enrollment based classes with the approval of the Board of Control. In the interim, newly added or deleted programs will be handled on a case by case basis by the Commissioners office.
For postseason competition, in Class 1A, for 2023 and 2024, the fifth place team in District 7 will become the fourth place team in District 8 for the purpose of playoff cross-bracketing.
For postseason competition, in Class 6A, for 2023, Districts 3 and 5 will be cross-bracketed as Region 2 for playoffs and Districts 4 and 6 will be cross-bracketed as Region 3 for playoffs.
For postseason competition, in Class 6A, for 2024, Districts 3 and 6 will be cross-bracketed as Region 2 for playoffs and Districts 4 and 5 will be cross-bracketed as Region 3 for playoffs.

A complete realignment will be done during the 2023-24 school year, with the average boys grade 9-12 enrollment of the 2022-23 and 2023-24 being used to break into classes, without the option for any school to voluntarily opt-in to a higher class. The 2023-24 enrollment will be used twice, and the 2022-23 enrollment used once in calculating this average.

** Varsity Play, but Not Eligible for playoffs until 2025: Jackson County, Jenkins, Morgan County, Phelps

For the 2023 through 2024 playing seasons, the alignment for football is as follows, with a complete realignment during the 2023-24 school year for playing seasons 2025-2026:
CLASS 1A District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville
District 2 – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day
District 3 – Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic
District 4 – Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Ludlow, Trimble County
District 5 – Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre
District 6 – Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland
District 7 – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg
District 8 – Hazard, Paintsville, Pikeville
CLASS 2A District 1 – Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Mayfield, Murray
District 2 – Edmonson County, Fort Campbell, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central
District 3 – Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County
District 4 – Fort Knox, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County
District 5 – Beechwood, Bracken County, Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Walton-Verona
District 6 – Breathitt County, Danville, Leslie County, Somerset
District 7 – Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Martin County, Prestonsburg
District 8 – Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley
CLASS 3A District 1 – Hancock County, Hopkins County Central, McLean County, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County
District 2 – Adair County, Butler County, Franklin-Simpson, Glasgow, Hart County
District 3 – Central, Christian Academy-Louisville, Elizabethtown, LaRue County
District 4 – Casey County, Garrard County, Marion County, Mercer County
District 5 – Bourbon County, Lexington Catholic, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County
District 6 – Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell, West Carter
District 7 – Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County
District 8 – Belfry, Estill County, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Powell County
CLASS 4A District 1 – Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East
District 2 – Bardstown, Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson
District 3 – DeSales, Doss, Jeffersontown, Valley, Waggener, Western
District 4 – Franklin County, Henry County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills
District 5 – Covington Catholic, Grant County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County
District 6 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County
District 7 – Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County
District 8 – Corbin, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County
CLASS 5A District 1 – Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro
District 2 – Bowling Green, Greenwood, Ohio County, South Warren
District 3 – Atherton, Butler, Fairdale, Iroquois
District 4 – Bullitt Central, Grayson County, Moore, North Bullitt, Seneca
District 5 – Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County
District 6 – Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Highlands, Scott
District 7 – East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine
District 8 – Harlan County, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern
CLASS 6A District 1 – Christian County, Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County
District 2 – Barren County, Central Hardin, North Hardin, Warren Central
District 3 – DuPont Manual, Meade County, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier
District 4 – Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern
District 5 – Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity (Louisville)
District 6 – Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton
District 7 – Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek
District 8 – Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central

Not Placed in Alignment – Jackson County, Jenkins, Morgan County, Phelps, WEB DuBois


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times