Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

06/04/24 – Thurmond, Germann Named 2023-24 Midway/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year

June 4, 2024 2023-2024 News Releases



The 2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athlete of the Year awards program culminated Tuesday on the campus of Midway University, as Carlie Thurmond of Bethlehem (Soccer) and Max Germann of Boyle County (Track & Field) were recognized as the overall Student-Athletes of the Year.

Beginning in May 2016, Midway has presented a Female Student-Athlete of the Year award at each KHSAA girls’ state championship event. The awards program was expanded in 2019-20 to include male student-athletes, with Midway honoring a deserving student-athlete in each KHSAA sport and sport-activity.

The awards are based on athletic and academic achievement, as well as community service and leadership, with Midway choosing one overall Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year each academic year. School administrators, coaches and athletic directors nominate student-athletes, and the nominees are voted upon by a closed panel consisting of representatives from Midway.


2023-24 Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year

  • Archery: Rebecca Smith, Model; Jace Hatfield, Corbin
  • Baseball: Robert Hammons, Frankfort
  • Basketball: Gracie Howard, Christian Fellowship; Grant Bailey, Letcher County Central
  • Bass Fishing: Reagan Shelton, Powell County; Elijah Laflin, Christian Academy-Louisville
  • Bowling: Baylee Spickard, Franklin County; Colin Menner, Holy Cross (Covington)
  • Competitive Cheer: Ava Ledford, Knox Central
  • Cross Country: Autumn Egleston, Rowan County; Michael Zechella, Covington Catholic
  • Dance: Dixie Hall, McCracken County
  • Esports: Conner Layne, East Carter
  • Field Hockey: Megan Mauzy, Christian Academy-Louisville
  • Football: Jerod Smith, Corbin
  • Golf: MaddiJo Benton, Estill County; Jameson Corbin, Barren County
  • Indoor Track & Field: Flora Biro, DuPont Manual; Caleb Williams, Greenwood
  • Soccer: Carlie Thurmond, Bethlehem; Jonah Day, Madison Central
  • Softball: Lili Smith, Russell
  • Swimming & Diving: Haley McDonald, Sacred Heart; Landon Isler, Ryle
  • Tennis: Katie Switzer, Nicholas County; Sterling Chase, Central
  • Track & Field: Maxine Settle, Calloway County; Max Germann, Boyle County
  • Volleyball: Jada Knight, Warren East
  • Wrestling: Gabriella Borges, Simon Kenton; Kyle Wojcicki, North Oldham

* 2023-24 overall winners in bold


Overall Midway University/KHSAA Student-Athletes of the Year

  • 2016-17: Brooke Forde, Sacred Heart (Swimming & Diving)
  • 2017-18: Sara Hieneman, Russell (Softball)
  • 2018-19: Maci Ferguson, Russell (Russell)
  • 2019-20: Lee Ann Gordon, Assumption (Field Hockey); Michael Chou, Trinity (Louisville) (Tennis)
  • 2020-21: Claire Lehmkuhler, Woodford County (Softball); Jackson Smallwood, Grant County (Track & Field)
  • 2021-22: Renae Kopser, Ryle (Track & Field); Ben Gloyd, Mayfield (Baseball)
  • 2022-23: Rafaella Johnson, Elizabethtown (Cross Country); George Ferree, Trinity (Louisville) (Wrestling)
  • 2023-24: Carlie Thurmond, Bethlehem (Soccer); Max Germann, Boyle County (Track & Field)



About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 290 member schools, both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 229 state championships to 59 teams and 178 individuals in 13 sports and six sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 109,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times