Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

03/21/24 – Recipients Announced for Ninth Annual Louis Stout Memorial Scholarships

March 11, 2024 2023-2024 News Releases



Kaydon Custard of Harrison County and Katherine Murphy of Barren County have been selected as recipients of the ninth annual Louis Stout Memorial Scholarships for the 2023-2024 academic year.

When former KHSAA Commissioner Louis Stout died in 2012, his late widow Anna directed that donations on his behalf go to the Louis Stout Memorial Fund for students. Mrs. Stout felt this was an opportunity for the KHSAA to honor student-athletes who excel in athletics, academics, school service, and community service.

Winners will receive a one-time $2,000 non-renewable scholarship payable directly to an institution of higher learning. Murphy and Custard were chosen after careful review, with selection criteria based on athletic activities, non-athletic activities, non-school activities, and an essay on the role a student-athlete should play in the community.

Custard is a four-year captain of the football team, a five-year member of the basketball team, a three-year member of the track team, and has added baseball his senior year.  He is a member of the Beta Club, Buddies to Youth, Educators Rising, and Youth Salute programs.  In addition, he has served as an official for youth football and basketball games.

Murphy has participated in basketball, softball, and volleyball.  She has participated in Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), Pep Club, Hearts for Riley, and crowned football homecoming queen.  She has been involved with Love Loud and ER Ministries.

Individuals interested in contributing to future scholarships can send donations care of the Louis Stout Memorial Scholarship Fund to the KHSAA offices (2280 Executive Dr, Lexington, KY 40505).

Louis Stout Memorial Scholarship recipients
2016: Jakob Beckley (Henry County), Abigail Abner (Buckhorn);
2017: David Chase Baker (Menifee County), Madison Lauer (Taylor County);
2018: Will Feese (Model), Simone Bibbs (Bryan Station), Sidney Bibbs (Bryan Station);
2019: Lance Butler (Paducah Tilghman), Brynne Galloway (Garrard County);
2020: Ryan Maynard (Taylor County), Mollie Morris (Union County);
2021: Andrew Martin (Prestonsburg), Jacob Martin (Prestonsburg), Toné Melton (North Hardin);
2022: James Howell (Butler), Ella Abney (Frankfort);
2023: Cody Ell (South Warren), Laura Neal (Powell County)
2024: Kaydon Custard (Harrison County), Katherine Murphy (Barren County)


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 290 member schools, both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 229 state championships to 59 teams and 178 individuals in 13 sports and six sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 109,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times