Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

02/02/24 – Introducing the Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2024

February 2, 2024 2023-2024 News Releases



The Kentucky High School Athletic Association will induct its Class of 2024 into the Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame presented by Roberts Insurance on Sunday, April 28, at the Central Bank Center Ballroom in Lexington. With the introduction of this year’s 12-member class, the Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame grows to 517 all-time members since its inception in 1988.

Tickets to the 2024 Dawahares/KHSAA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be available for purchase at a later date on

Larry “Cotton” Adams (Coach, Corbin) – Larry “Cotton” Adams was synonymous with Corbin football for more than three decades, appearing in a combined six state championship games as a head coach, assistant coach and player. With an overall head coaching record of 114-46 (.713), Adams led the Redhounds to a Class 2A state title in 1982 and a Class 2A runner-up finish in 1990.

Barry Barnes (Official) – With a career that spanned approximately half a century, Barry Barnes contributed to the sports of basketball, volleyball and softball as both an official and an assigning secretary. After becoming a registered basketball official in 1971, Barnes officiated 16 different Sweet 16® tournaments and was named the sport’s 1994-95 Outstanding Official of the Year.

Ida Bowen (Athlete, Sheldon Clark) – Totaling 2,385 points and 1,268 rebounds in her career, Ida Bowen was named Sheldon Clark’s only Kentucky Miss Basketball award winner following a stellar 1990-91 senior season. She went on to play four years at the collegiate level at Western Kentucky University, where she helped guide the Lady Toppers to an NCAA Division I national runner-up finish as a freshman.

Mark Evans (Coach; Mercy Academy, Oldham County) – As a head coach, Mark Evans anchored Mercy Academy to state championships in both basketball (2010) and slow-pitch softball (1987, 1989). Prior to a 16-year stint as the Jaguars’ basketball head coach and a 24-year run as Mercy Academy Athletic Director, Evans compiled a 113-47 (.706) record in five seasons as the girls’ basketball coach at Oldham County.

Joe Dan Gold (Benton, Contributor) – Following a 1958-59 All-State senior season at Benton in which he scored 650 points, Joe Dan Gold continued his basketball career at Mississippi State University, where his legacy continues to outlast his contributions on the court. After state officials declined to allow the three-time reigning Southeastern Conference champions to participate in the previous two NCAA Tournaments due to racist state policies, Gold’s Bulldogs defied orders by accepting an invitation to the 1963 NCAA Tournament during his senior season. Prior to a regional semifinal matchup with eventual national champion Loyola University Chicago, a photograph of Gold’s pregame handshake with opposing team captain Jerry Harkness became etched in history as the start of what is known as the Game of Change.

Larry “Pee Wee” Gumm (Coach, Green County) – Spanning a total of 44 seasons over two stints as baseball head coach of Green County, Larry “Pee Wee” Gumm became the first coach in state history to win 1,000 games. Gumm guided the Dragons to two regional championships in addition to 17 district championships and was inducted into the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2007.

Debbie Judd (Coach, Assumption) – Behind a record of 568-115-23 (.821), Debbie Judd served as Assumption field hockey head coach for 29 seasons. She led the Rockets to 10 state championships and 24 regional titles, raising the profile of the sport of field hockey across the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Donna Robinson-Wilson (Coach, Henry Clay) – During her 35-year cheerleading head coaching career, Donna Robinson-Wilson led Henry Clay to 10 state championships. She earned national coach of the year honors in 1980, as well as six National Cheerleading Association national titles and a Universal Cheerleaders Association world championship in 1993.

Ty Rogers (Athlete, Lyon County) – With a six-year career total of 3,300 points, Ty Rogers made 407 three-point field goals for Lyon County and averaged 32.3 points per game as a senior. Rogers graduated high school as the class of 2004 valedictorian before continuing his basketball career at Western Kentucky University, where he earned an ESPY Award for his game-winning three-pointer in overtime of the first round of the 2008 NCAA Tournament.

Brandon Stockton (Athlete, Glasgow) – Capped off by back-to-back consensus All-State honors and the 2002 Kentucky Mr. Basketball award, Brandon Stockton averaged 26.2 points, 5.1 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 3.1 steals as a senior for Glasgow. Stockton continued his playing career at the University of Kentucky, where the point guard was a four-year scholarship player.

Dan Swartz (Athlete, Owingsville) – Dan Swartz eclipsed the 2,000-point mark during his high school career despite missing nearly his entire senior season at Owingsville due to injury. The 6-foot-4 forward earned a scholarship to the University of Kentucky before transferring to Morehead State University, where he was a two-time All-American and averaged 28.8 points per game over three years. Swartz led the Eagles to their first NCAA Tournament appearance in school history in 1956 and won an NBA championship in 1963 as a member of the Boston Celtics.

Todd Tackett (Athlete, Paintsville) – Todd Tackett was a 1998 graduate of Paintsville, where he helped guide the Tigers to the first state title in school history as a sophomore. Behind 2,082 points and 601 assists over his career, Tackett led Paintsville to a Region 15 championship in each of his four seasons, advancing to the semifinals or beyond of the Sweet 16® in his latter three. He scored a school record 56 points against Pike Central as a senior, setting school marks in field goals made (22), field goals attempted (36) and three-pointers attempted (18) in the same game.



About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 290 member schools, both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 229 state championships to 59 teams and 178 individuals in 13 sports and six sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 109,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times