Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

04/9/13 – 2013 KHSAA Hall of Fame Class Honored This Saturday; Regional Sportsmanship Winners Announced

April 9, 2013 2012-2013 News Releases



2013 KHSAA Hall of Fame Class To Be Honored Saturday

The KHSAA Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be honored at the Association’s annual banquet on Saturday, April 13th at the Lexington Center’s Bluegrass Ballroom. The nine-member Class of 2013 features Pascal Benson (football, baseball and basketball), Julie Ditty (tennis), Tyson Gay (track and field), Burney Jenkins (officiating), Roger Klein (tennis), Frank Miklavcic (track and field, and cross country), Ron Myers (baseball), Jaime Walz Richey (basketball) and John Dee Wilson (basketball).

The Hall of Fame banquet will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a silent auction and social hour, followed by dinner and the induction ceremony at 6:30 p.m. Tickets to the banquet are $60 each and can be purchased by contacting the KHSAA by phone at (859) 299-5472. Full 10-person tables are also available for purchase at a discounted rate of $500.

Regional Winners Announced For 2013 Forcht Bank/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition Program

Thirty-two regional winners have been selected as part of the 2013 Forcht Bank/KHSAA Sportsmanship Recognition program, and will now be eligible for consideration for the statewide scholarship. Each regional winner will receive a $350 scholarship, an award from Forcht Bank and the KSHAA, and an invitation to the Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 28. One male and one female from the pool of regional honorees will be selected as the statewide winner at the Awards Banquet, with each winner receiving a $3,000 scholarship.

This marks the 17th year for the Sportsmanship Recognition program, which is open to all seniors that have participated in athletics and/or sport activities (cheerleading, bowling, archery and bass fishing). One male and one female are recognized from each school, with the local school honorees narrowed down to 32 regional winners, one male and one female from each of the 16 regions. To qualify for consideration in the program, a student must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5, verification of no game disqualifications for unsportsmanlike conduct, and be involved in leadership roles within the community.

Region 1 – Noah Steele (Marshall County), Catherine Miller (Paducah Tilghman)
Region 2 – Cameron Brandon (Caldwell County), Jamie Gray (Lyon County)
Region 3 – Cody Meinhardt (Edmonson County), Sierra Fields (Butler County)
Region 4 – Chad Wilson (Monroe County), Tayler McMurtrey (Metcalfe County)
Region 5 – Ian Black (Elizabethtown), Brittanie Mahanna (North Hardin)
Region 6 – Hunter Wood (Bullitt East), Victoria Dircksen (Mercy)
Region 7 – Ryan Long (Christian Academy-Louisville), Katharine Joss (Christian Academy-Louisville)
Region 8 – Deric Hyman (Shelby County), Natalie Newman (North Oldham)
Region 9 – Dexter Smith (Lloyd Memorial), Alexis Hunter (Beechwood)
Region 10 – Tanner Kelsch (Augusta), Andrea Porter (Scott)
Region 11 – Raymond White (Model), Riley Davis (Woodford County)
Region 12 – Landry Woods (Wayne County), Tori Gray (Mercer County)
Region 13 – William Lewis (Harlan County), Kari Beth Corum (Clay County)
Region 14 – Austin Pray (Perry Co. Central), Cassidy Spencer (Wolfe County)
Region 15 – Ethan Rowe (Pikeville), Sarah Dawahare (Pikeville)
Region 16 – Johnathan Burke (Fairview), Jordan Gillum (Greenup County)


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 280 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions 40 state championships in 12 sports and 4 sport activities, licenses and trains over 4,000 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its more than 70,000 member school student-athletes, as well as overseeing coaching education and sports safety programs.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times