Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

07/08/24 – Track & Field Official of the Year Announced

July 8, 2024 2024-2025 News Releases



Each year, the Kentucky High School Athletic Association honors the top officials for the 10 sports in which it licenses officials. Finalists in each sport are selected through a combination of not only on-field performance but local association activity and leadership, training efforts and the mentoring of newer officials.

One official in each sport is named “Outstanding Official of the Year” for their sport in appreciation of their dedication and service to schools and student-athletes across the state. Winners are selected following consultation with local assigning secretaries, veteran officials’ observers, coaches throughout the state and additional staff review.

The Outstanding Official of the Year for the 2023-24 track & field season is Rich Bryar of Louisville. Each finalist will receive a commemorative watch and certificate courtesy of the Officials Trust Fund, with the Official of the Year receiving an additional recognition award.

With officiating numbers declining at the national level, the KHSAA is always accepting applications from individuals interested in giving back to their community. Officiating remains a great avenue to stay active, earn extra spending money and ensure that high school athletics are preserved for the current and future generations. To get involved as an official, visit


2023-24 KHSAA Outstanding Officials (winners in bold)

  • Field Hockey: Sara Aschbacher (Louisville), Chris Niblock (Louisville)
  • Soccer: Nick Adkins (Lexington), Clifton Florence (Shelbyville)
  • Volleyball: Danny Woosley (Glasgow), Brad Phipps (Greenville)
  • Football: PD Harris (Grayson), Tommy Adams (Radcliff), Jordan Adkins (Covington)
  • Wrestling: Jake Lowry (Old Hickory, Tennessee); Kristin Dennison (Radcliff)
  • Swimming & Diving: Brent Runkle (Louisville), Lesa Boone (Louisville)
  • Basketball: Tyrone Fields (Whitesburg), Myia Smith (Louisville), Darrell Wilson (Wallins Creek), Kyle Lovett (Calvert City)
  • Track & Field: Rich Bryar (Louisville), Bernard O’Nan (Ashland)



About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 290 member schools, both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 229 state championships to 59 teams and 178 individuals in 13 sports and six sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 109,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times