Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

03/07/22 – Recipients Announced for Seventh Annual Louis Stout Memorial Scholarships

March 7, 2022 2021-2022 News Releases



Ella Abney of Frankfort High School and Butler’s James Howell have been selected as the recipients of the seventh annual Louis Stout Memorial Scholarships for the 2021-2022 academic year.

When former KHSAA Commissioner Louis Stout passed away in 2012, his late widow Anna directed that donations on his behalf go to the Louis Stout Memorial Fund for Students. Mrs. Stout felt this was an opportunity for the KHSAA to honor student-athletes who excel in athletics, academics, school service and community service.

Winners will receive a one-time $2,000 non-renewable scholarship payable directly to an institution of higher learning. Abney and Howell were chosen after careful review, with selection criteria based on athletic activities, non-athletic activities, non-school activities and an essay on the role a student-athlete should play in the community.

A member of the varsity cross country and tennis teams at Frankfort for more than five seasons, Abney has still found a way to stay very active outside of sports and in the community. In addition to her successes in both sports, she has remained in a variety of leadership roles in FCA as well as her work on the Frankfort Independent Superintendent Advisory Council, Student Council and many other groups.

Howell is a four-sport letterman in football, as well as being a long-time National Honor Society member including many leadership roles. He has been involved in a plethora of other activities including T-TEP, Black Achievers, and Sigma Beta Club and other community service activities such as the March of Dimes, JCPS Backpack giveaway, JCPS Family Engagement Community Event and many more.

Individuals interested in contributing to future scholarships can send a donation care of the Louis Stout Memorial Scholarship Fund to the KHSAA offices (2280 Executive Dr., Lexington, KY, 40505).

Louis Stout Memorial Scholarship Past Winners:
2016 – Jakob Beckley (Henry County); Abigail Abner (Buckhorn)
2017 – David Chase Baker (Menifee County); Madison Lauer (Taylor County)
2018 – Will Feese (Model); Simone and Sidney Bibbs (Bryan Station)
2019 – Lance Butler (Paducah Tilghman); Brynne Galloway (Garrard County)
2020 – Ryan Maynard (Taylor County), Mollie Morris (Union County)
2021 – Andrew Martin and Jacob Martin (Prestonsburg) and Toné Melton (North Hardin)


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 285 member schools both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 215 state championships to 51 teams and 164 individuals in 13 sports and 6 sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 106,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches, and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times