Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

06/30/23 – Officials Supervisor of the Year Announced

June 30, 2023 2022-2023 News Releases



Each year, the Kentucky High School Athletic Association honors the top officials for the 10 sports in which it licenses officials, as well as a single supervisor of officials from among those sports. Finalists in each sport are selected through a combination of not only on-field performance but local association activity and leadership, training efforts and the mentoring of newer officials.

In addition to one official in each sport being named “Outstanding Official of the Year” for their sport, the KHSAA also recognizes the Larry G. Boucher Officials Supervisor of the Year in appreciation of their dedication and service to schools and student-athletes across the state. Winners are selected following consultation with local assigning secretaries, veteran officials’ observers, coaches throughout the state and additional staff review.

The Larry G. Boucher Officials Supervisor of the Year for the 2022-23 school year is Mark Shumate of Floyd Knobs, Indiana, for his outstanding efforts in the sport of wrestling.

With officiating numbers declining at the national level, the KHSAA is always accepting applications from individuals interested in giving back to their community. Officiating remains a great avenue to stay active, earn extra spending money and ensure that high school athletics are preserved for the current and future generations. To get involved as an official, visit


2022-23 KHSAA Outstanding Officials (winners in bold)

  • Field Hockey: Rick Moir (Louisville), Sara Aschbacher (Louisville)
  • Soccer: Don Galito (Russell Springs), Nick Adkins (Lexington)
  • Volleyball: Bill Renzi (Russell), Carla Bender (Henderson)
  • Football: Steve Hendley (Mayfield), Daniel Brummett (Walton), James Gorby (Leitchfield)
  • Swimming & Diving: Christina Pitt (Paducah), Brett Runkle (Louisville)
  • Wrestling: Blake Durham (Louisville), Philip Hayes (Louisville)
  • Basketball: Jason Wilkins (Central City), Paige Hurst (Morehead), Brian Napier (Chavies), Trent Lovett (Benton)
  • Track & Field: Chris Thomas (Paint Lick), Rich Bryar (Louisville)
  • Softball: Kevin Terry (Corbin), Brandon Turner (Campbellsville)
  • Baseball: Scot Allison (Carlisle), Donchez Martin (Burlington), Grant Weaver (Louisville)
  • Larry G. Boucher Officials Supervisor of the Year (Wrestling): Mark Shumate (Floyd Knobs, Indiana)



About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 284 member schools, both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 215 state championships to 51 teams and 164 individuals in 13 sports and six sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 106,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times