Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

2021 and 2022 Approved Alignment of Teams – Football

October 20, 2020 Athletic Department Blog Updates



The Kentucky High School Athletic Association shall sponsor postseason competition in football provided that there is sufficient interest of the membership to participate in the said competition. Member schools desiring to participate in KHSAA sponsored postseason competition shall notify the Association office before September 1. The Commissioner shall divide the state into geographic sections within six (6) enrollment-based classes with the approval of the Board of Control. In the interim, newly added or deleted programs will be handled on a case by case basis by the Commissioner’s office.

For the postseason competition, in Class 6A, For playoff bracketing only, the 5th place team in District 1 would become the 4th place team in District 5

For the postseason competition, in Class 1A, Sayre will be the 4th seed in District 7 for 2020 only.

For interim alignment review for 2021 and 2022 seasons, the class boundaries when the schools were divided for the 2019-22 alignment were (average boys’ four-year enrollment): 1A- 0 – 191.4, 2A – 191.5 – 316, 3A- 316.1 – 426, 4A- 426.1 – 545.5, 5A- 545.6 – 725, 6A – 725.1 and above.

Alignment Adopted May 9, 2018, Adjustments approved September 2020

(1) Varsity Play for 2020, but Not Eligible for playoffs until 2021- Trimble County

(2) Varsity Play for 2020, withdrawn for playoffs for 2021 and 2022- Caverna, Jackson County

(3) Withdrawn for 2020 Only Due to Covid-19 and DODEA Restrictions- Fort Knox, Fort Campbell

(4) Withdrawn for 2020, 2021 and 2022 seasons- Fulton City, Jenkins

For the 2021 through 2022 playing seasons, the alignment for football is as follows:


District 1 – Caverna (2), Crittenden County, Fulton County, Russellville

District 2 – Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Fort Knox (3), Holy Cross (Louisville)

District 3 – Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Kentucky Country Day

District 4 – Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow, Newport Central Catholic

District 5 – Bishop Brossart, Bracken County, Nicholas County, Paris

District 6 – Betsy Layne, Fairview, Paintsville, Raceland

District 7 – Hazard, Phelps, Pikeville, Sayre

District 8 – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Pineville, Williamsburg


District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Caldwell County, Fort Campbell (3), Mayfield, Murray

District 2 – Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central

District 3 – Clinton County, Edmonson County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County

District 4 – Danville, Lexington Christian, Somerset, Washington County

District 5 – Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Shawnee, Trimble County (1), Walton-Verona

District 6 – Beechwood, Holy Cross (Covington), Lloyd Memorial, Newport

District 7 – Breathitt County, Knott County Central, Leslie County, Middlesboro, Morgan County

District 8 – Bath County, East Ridge, Martin County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley, West Carter


District 1 – Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County

District 2 – Adair County, Casey County, Glasgow, Hart County, Taylor County

District 3 – Bardstown, Elizabethtown, LaRue County, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson

District 4 – Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Henry County, Mercer County, Western Hills

District 5 – Bell County, Estill County, Garrard County, Jackson County (2), McCreary Central, Rockcastle County

District 6 – Fleming County, Lewis County, Mason County, Pendleton County, Powell County

District 7 – Ashland Blazer, East Carter, Greenup County, Russell

District 8 – Belfry, Floyd Central, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Pike County Central


District 1 – Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Madisonville-North Hopkins

District 2 – Allen County-Scottsville, Franklin-Simpson, Russell County, Warren Central, Warren East

District 3 – John Hardin, Marion County, Moore, Spencer County, Valley

District 4 – Central, Franklin County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Waggener

District 5 – Anderson County, Bourbon County, Boyle County, Lexington Catholic

District 6 – Boyd County, Harrison County, Holmes, Rowan County, Scott

District 7 – Corbin, Knox Central, Lincoln County, Wayne County

District 8 – Clay County, Harlan County, Johnson Central, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central


District 1 – Breckinridge County, Graves County, Grayson County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County, Owensboro

District 2 – Bowling Green, Christian County, Greenwood, South Warren

District 3 – Bullitt Central, Doss, Fairdale, Iroquois, Western

District 4 – Atherton, Jeffersontown, North Bullitt, Seneca, South Oldham

District 5 – Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Covington Catholic, Highlands

District 6 – Frederick Douglass, Grant County, Great Crossing, Montgomery County, Scott County

District 7 – Collins, East Jessamine, Madison Southern, West Jessamine, Woodford County

District 8 – North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern, Whitley County


District 1 – Apollo, Daviess County, Henderson County, Marshall County, McCracken County

District 2 – Barren County, Central Hardin, Meade County, North Hardin

District 3 – Butler, DuPont Manual, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District 4 – Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern

District 5 – Ballard, Eastern, Trinity (Louisville)

District 6 – Campbell County, Dixie Heights, Ryle, Simon Kenton

District 7 – Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek

District 8 – Bryan Station, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central, Oldham County



icon-angle icon-bars icon-times