Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

07/13/21 – Spring Officials, Supervisor of the Year Winners Announced

July 13, 2021 2020-2021 News Releases



Each year, the Kentucky High School Athletic Association honors the top officials for the 10 sports in which it licenses officials. Finalists in each sport are selected through a combination of not only on-field/court performance but local association activity and leadership, training efforts and the mentoring of newer officials.

One official in each sport is named “Outstanding Official of the Year” for his/her sport in appreciation of their dedication and service to schools and student-athletes across the state. Winners are selected following consultation with local assigning secretaries, veteran officials’ observers, coaches throughout the state and additional staff review.

The Outstanding Officials of the Year for the 2021 spring season are Jerry Mohr for track & field, Ronnie McGuffey for softball and John Carroll for baseball. Each finalist will receive a commemorative watch and certificate courtesy of the Officials Division Trust Fund, with the Official of the Year receiving an additional recognition award.

The Association also annually recognizes one individual with the Larry G. Boucher Jr. Supervisor of the Year Award, with this year’s honor going to Matt Young.

With officiating numbers declining at the national level, the KHSAA is always accepting applications from individuals interested in giving back to their community. Officiating remains a great avenue to stay active, earn extra spending money and ensure that high school athletics are preserved for the current and future generations. To get involved as an official, visit

2020-21 KHSAA Outstanding Officials (winners in bold)
FIELD HOCKEY – Jamie Gatewood (Louisville), Jim Kramer (Crestwood)
SOCCER – Michael Samaan (Nicholasville), Alec Melchor (Elizabethtown)
VOLLEYBALL – Jim Nunley (Pineville), Mark Brown (Russell)
FOOTBALL – Burney Jenkins (Georgetown), Tackett Wilson (Corbin), Scott Moore (Union)
WRESTLING – John Eschan (Union), Eric Friddle (Versailles)
SWIMMING & DIVING – Terri Tonges (Versailles), Joseph Phillips (Russell Springs)
BASKETBALL – Hannah Reynolds (Island), Adam Rider (Bowling Green), David Benson (Henderson), Jason Wilkins (Central City)
TRACK & FIELD – Jerry Mohr (Fort Thomas), Sadie Gambrel (Danville)
SOFTBALL – Ronnie McGuffey (Waynesburg), Don Kurapkat (Elizabethtown)
BASEBALL – John Carroll (Lexington), Michael Salmons (Worthington), Shawn Overbey (Lexington)
SUPERVISOR OF THE YEAR – Matt Young (Newport)


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 284 member schools both public and non-public. The KHSAA awards 215 state championships to 51 teams and 164 individuals in 13 sports and 6 sport-activities, funds catastrophic insurance coverage for its more than 106,000 rostered member school student-athletes, provides coaching education and sports safety programs for more than 12,000 coaches, and licenses and facilitates the distribution of training material for over 4,000 contest officials.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times