Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

04/16/15 – Regional Winners Announced For 2015 Forcht Bank/KHSAA CLASS Awards Recognition Program

April 16, 2015 2014-2015 News Releases

PrintFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 16, 2015

Thirty-two regional winners have been selected as part of the 2015 Forcht Bank/KHSAA CLASS Awards Recognition Program. The 32 regional winners will each receive a $350 scholarship, an award from Forcht Bank and the KHSAA, and an invitation to the Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 26. One male and one female from the pool of regional honorees will be selected as the statewide winner at the Awards Banquet, with each individual receiving a $3,000 scholarship.

The Forcht Bank/KHSAA CLASS Awards Recognition Program (Citizenship, Leadership, Athletics, Sportsmanship, Scholarship) honors deserving senior student-athletes across the state. This is the 19th year the KHSAA has recognized student-athletes through a scholarship program, which is open to all seniors that have participated in sports and/or sport-activities (competitive cheerleading, bowling, archery and bass fishing).

One male and one female are recognized from each school, with the local school honorees narrowed down to 32 regional winners, one male and one female from each of the 16 regions. To qualify for consideration in the program, a student must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5, verification of no game disqualifications for unsportsmanlike conduct, and be involved in leadership roles within the community.

Region 1 – Emily Whitnell (Graves County), Lee Chandler (Ballard Memorial)
Region 2 – Mallory Mize (Trigg County), Nicholas Gregory (Henderson County)
Region 3 – Jessica Embry (Daviess County), Jacob Hook (Trinity (Whitesville))
Region 4 – Lydia Swinney (Todd Co. Central), Dillon Geralds (Monroe County)
Region 5 – Dani Wilson (Elizabethtown), Jake Yates (Bethlehem)
Region 6 – Kassidy Kiesel (Mercy), Aaron Hedgecock (Butler)
Region 7 – Katie Gob (Ballard), Tyler Klondike (Ballard)
Region 8 – Kelsey Schmiade (Simon Kenton), Brady Young (Owen County)
Region 9 – Payton Brown (Lloyd Memorial), Nicholas Boucher (Villa Madonna)
Region 10 – Jennah Flairty (Campbell County), Jonah Smith (Pendleton County)
Region 11 – Halee Hudson (Scott County), Brandon Calia (Lafayette)
Region 12 – Katie Mitchell (West Jessamine), Joshua Preston (West Jessamine)
Region 13 – Kelsey Osborne (Whitley County), Cole Frazier (Bell County)
Region 14 – Bethany Hall (Estill County), Brandon McKinney (Estill County)
Region 15 – Kerrigan Samons (Paintsville), Steven Prater (Phelps)
Region 16 – Megan Farley (Raceland), Justin Graham (Rowan County)


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 277 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions 43 state championships in 13 sports and 4 sport-activities, licenses and trains over 4,000 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its more than 70,000 member school student-athletes, as well as overseeing coaching education and sports safety programs. Print

icon-angle icon-bars icon-times