Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

12/09/13 – Boys Sweet 16® Press Conference Tuesday; Competitive Cheer Championships Saturday; Football Championship Review

December 9, 2013 2013-2014 News Releases



Press Conference Called For Tuesday Regarding Boys’ Sweet 16®

The KHSAA will hold a press conference at the Association’s headquarters on Tuesday afternoon regarding the future of the Boys’ Sweet Sixteen®. The press conference will begin at 12:15 p.m. with remarks from the Association and The press conference will be streamed live at

KHSAA Competitive Cheer Championships This Saturday At Alltech Arena

The second annual KHSAA Competitive Cheer Championships will take place this Saturday at Alltech Arena in Lexington. Doors open to the fans at 9 a.m., with the competition beginning at 10 a.m. with the All-Girls’ Small and All-Girls’ Medium divisions. The All-Girls’ Large and All-Girls’ Super-Large Divisions will begin at 2 p.m., with the day’s events concluding with the Coed Division at 6 p.m. An awards presentation will immediately follow each competition block.

The KHSAA Competitive Cheer Championships will be live streamed at A detailed competition schedule, including order of appearance for each division, can be found at the link below:

All other details in regards to the state championship can be found on the Competitive Cheer homepage at

Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl Crowns Six State Champions

Adverse weather conditions and a schedule change did not diminish a great weekend of championship football at the 2013 Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl at Houchens Industries/L.T. Smith Stadium in Bowling Green.

Mayfield (14-1) opened the weekend with a 42-0 win over Williamsburg (11-3) on Friday to repeat as Class 1A Champions and give head coach Joe Morris his fourth state title. Belfry (14-1) followed with a 3-0 victory over previously undefeated Wayne County (14-1) in the 3A Championship, as Austin Woolum kicked the game-winning 35-yard field goal in the third quarter to help head coach Philip Haywood to his third state title. Haywood is Kentucky’s all-time winningest coach with 376 victories.

Saturday’s action began with DeSales (14-1) claiming its first football state championship with a 34-26 victory over Newport Central Catholic (10-5) in the 2A final. Collins High School (13-2) followed suit in the 4A final, knocking off Highlands (13-2) to capture the school’s first football championship, 37-34. Scott County (15-0) closed out Saturday’s slate with a 21-14 victory over Meade County (12-3) in the 6A Championship game, for the Cardinals’ first football state title since 1975.

The Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl concluded on Sunday afternoon as Bowling Green (14-0) captured its third-straight 5A Championship with a 49-14 victory over previously unbeaten Pulaski County (14-1). The victory extended Bowling Green’s win streak to 44 games, and allowed the Purples to join Trinity (Lou.) (1988-90) and Boyle County (1999-01) as the only schools to go undefeated in three-straight state-championship seasons.

A full list of award winners from the Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl is below:

Kentucky National Guard Best & Brightest Award
1A – Corey Shelton, Williamsburg
2A – Tom Donnelly, Newport Central Catholic
3A – Jason Perkins, Wayne County
4A – Drew Houliston, Highlands
5A – Aaron Smith, Pulaski County
6A – Nick O’Brien, Meade County 

Forcht Bank Uncommon Excellence Award
1A – Deion Jackson, Mayfield
2A – Nathan Roush, DeSales
3A – Zack Thompson, Belfry
4A – Dre Farris, Collins
5A – Devin Hayes, Bowling Green
6A – Thomas Daniel, Scott County 

Russell Athletic Most Valuable Player
1A – Jake Guhy, Mayfield
2A – Dylan Byrd, DeSales
3A – Austin Hatfield, Belfry
4A – Lawson Page, Collins
5A – Blake Pillow, Bowling Green
6A – Jacob Van Meter, Scott County 


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 277 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions 40 state championships in 12 sports and 4 sport activities, licenses and trains over 4,000 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its more than 70,000 member school student-athletes, as well as overseeing coaching education and sports safety programs.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times