Serving Kentucky's Schools and Student Athletes Since 1917

03/14/16 – Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16® Broadcast Schedule

March 14, 2016 2015-2016 News Releases



The 2016 Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16® begins Wednesday afternoon at Rupp Arena when Buckhorn takes on Murray at 12 p.m. Fans can follow the action for all 15 games of the tournament by watching live video webcasts at or listening online at

The 2016 Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16® marks just the fourth time in KHSAA history four schools have had both their boys’ and girls’ basketball teams advance to the state tournament in the same year – which Bowling Green, Murray, Mercer County and Owensboro Catholic achieved this year.

Four schools sent both their boys’ and girls’ teams to the Sweet 16® in 1977 (Owensboro, Taylor County, Laurel County and Ashland Blazer) and 1989 (Marshall County, Oldham County, George Rogers Clark and Clay County); while a state record five schools sent both their boys’ and girls’ teams to the state tournament in 1988 (Marshall County, Oldham County, Henry Clay, Clay County and Phelps).

All 15 games of the 2016 Boys’ Sweet 16® will be streamed live at through the NFHS Network, which is a subscription based service. Subscription plans for the NFHS Network include a day pass ($9.95), a monthly pass ($14.95) and an annual pass ($119.95).

These passes, with the daily pass priced less than the cost of admission to state championship contests, not only entitle the users to all Kentucky broadcasts, but all of the broadcasts from the more than 40 participating state associations. To subscribe to the NFHS Network, visit:

A free audio-only feed of the games will also be available online through and Mixlr (, which has a corresponding app available for iOS and Android devices. In addition, a list of affiliate stations carrying the Kentucky Utilities/KHSAA Sweet 16® Radio Network broadcast can be found at the following link:

The official championship program for the 2016 Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16® can be viewed at:

Fans interested in purchasing tickets to the Boys’ Sweet 16® can do so at this link:

Wednesday, March 16 (1st Round)
Session 1 – 12:00 p.m. ET
Buckhorn vs. Murray
Trinity (Lou.) vs. Newport Central Catholic
Session 2 – 6:30 p.m. ET
Bowling Green vs. Elliott County
Paul Laurence Dunbar vs. Mercer County

Thursday, March 17 (1st Round)
Session 3 – 12:00 p.m. ET
Lawrence County vs. Doss
South Laurel vs. Christian County
Session 4 – 6:30 p.m. ET
Mason County vs. Taylor County
South Oldham vs. Owensboro Catholic

Friday, March 18 (Quarterfinals)
Session 5 – 12:00 p.m. ET
Region 14/1 winner vs. Region 7/9 winner
Region 11/12 winner vs. Region 4/16 winner
Session 6 – 6:30 p.m. ET
Region 15/6 winner vs. Region 10/5 winner
Region 13/2 winner vs. Region 8/3 winner

Saturday, March 19 (Semifinals)
Session 7 – 6:30 p.m. ET

Sunday, March 20 (Finals)
Session 8 – 2 p.m. ET


About the Kentucky High School Athletic Association
The Kentucky High School Athletic Association was organized in 1917 and is the agency designated by the Kentucky Department of Education to manage high school athletics in the Commonwealth. The Association is a voluntary nonprofit 501(c)3 organization made up of 277 member schools both public and private. The KHSAA sanctions 43 state championships in 13 sports and 4 sport-activities, licenses and trains over 4,000 officials, provides catastrophic insurance for its more than 70,000 member school student-athletes, as well as overseeing coaching education and sports safety programs.


icon-angle icon-bars icon-times